The Beatles–Eleanor Rigby

I was always obsessed with Eleanor Rigby as a kid.  I think it must have been the first sad pop song I ever heard.  Or may be it was the distant, third person nature of the story.  Or that it made me think of my devoutly religious grandmother, who always seemed quite sad to me. Whatever the reason, it resonated deeply.  I poured over it, memorizing the lyrics and aping the strings (it was certainly the first time I’d ever hear them used on a popular track).  It’s been a long time since the song was regularly in my life, but whenever I hear it, it instantly takes me back to that time as a child, perched next to the turntable playing melancholy air violin.

Leave a Reply

